Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 16:02   #1

Send a message via Skype™ to dr3v01ution
Catalina 30 vs Columbia 36

Hi again, I got some good advice before and put a bid on a boat before and it didn't go through, and so I moved to hawaii and back at it. I havebasically narrowed my list down to two boats, and wondering how much work it would really take to get the larger boat. I am new to sailing and this will be my first boat, but I have an engineering degree so electrical should be manageable and dont some plumbing so I should be able to handle problems. I was wondering what do people think about the prices and condition of the boats. I've been reading repair guides so I have a SOMEWHAT general idea of the projects. I figure I could use the difference in price to tackle the harder projects and the rest slowly take care of myself. I would love the extra space for a variety of reasons but I dont want to be too ambitious.

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...g_id=1585&url=

http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...g_id=1585&url=

Ill be taking a very detailed list of everything when I go back for a second look, but thought I might get some ideas before I go.
Thanks for any advice!

-Don

PS I only posted the engine pic from the Catalina because there are still personal things in it and didnt think that would be a good idea for the other pix.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9455.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	416.0 KB
ID:	25957   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9456.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	361.9 KB
ID:	25958  

Name:	IMG_9462.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	327.4 KB
ID:	25959   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9464.jpg
Views:	275
Size:	410.2 KB
ID:	25960  

Name:	IMG_9468.jpg
Views:	276
Size:	328.0 KB