Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2013, 05:58   #1

Boat: 1983 Catalina 22
Question capacity ratings for trailer cruisers?

Hello, all. I am a newbie with a basic question regarding capacity. We are considering something like a Catalina 22 as our first sail boat. After a few days of looking at boats on line and in person, I just realized that capacity rating is a specification that I have not seen listed, and I don't remember seeing any capacity plates on the boats I've looked at. We'd like to be able to load, say, 4 scuba tanks and diving weights, and enough gear and supplies to spend a few nights on the boat. Is that doable in a boat in this size class? What would be the total weight, including crew, that one could load on board safely?
Divensail88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 06:36   #2

Boat: 31' homebuilt Michalak-designed Cormorant "Sea Fever"
Re: capacity ratings for trailer cruisers?

Just guessing here . . . but those boats can probably handle 800-1000 lbs of added weight (crew + gear + food etc.). Just keep in mind its distribution. Don't pile it all at the stern, or up high. Keep it low and centered if possible. Maybe shift some forward if you have trouble tacking through the wind.
Cormorant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 06:58   #3

Boat: 31' homebuilt Michalak-designed Cormorant "Sea Fever"

Following up with one interesting data point: the Catalina 22 will immerse 1" per 530 pounds of weight.