Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2010, 21:50   #1

Buying a Boat in Mexico

I could use a little advice around the purchase of U.S. registered boats in Mexico. What are the pit falls to watch out for? Is this a good idea or one to be avoid or not considered at all?
Solosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2010, 16:15   #2

Boat: Cal39 MrkIII, 1982
I'm not an expert when in comes to buying boats in Mexico, however, one advantage would be savings on sales tax because I believe that transaction would qualify as an offshore delivery. There are other stipulations that must be followed in order to be free of sales tax. You may want to consult with a reputable yacht broker or maritime attorney for advice. Whatever is decided, I'd strongly recommend a good survey by a reputable surveyor prior to buying the boat in question. Good luck and good sailing!
neophytecruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2010, 17:35   #3

Boat: 41' Custom CC Cutter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solosailor View Post
I could use a little advice around the purchase of U.S. registered boats in Mexico. What are the pit falls to watch out for? Is this a good idea or one to be avoid or not considered at all?