Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2015, 09:38   #1

Bumps on a steel keel

Hi,
I am new guy here. So welcome everyone. I have been saving for two years and next year I am planning to buy a cruising boat.

Out of many options I also have a possibility to buy almost ready hull (along with engine, rigging, equipment and even wood for interior) - 40foot long. I investigated the hull and it looks very professionally welded (it was welded in a steel mill) and then it was sold to a private owner. The task of a private owner was to fill out fin keel of that boat with 3 tones of lead and he did... however something went wrong (lead was too hot perhaps) and after pouring that 3 tones of liquid lead inside the fin keel it affected plates that form that keel and they changed their shape on sites. Basically there are small and medium bumps on that keel now. In your opinion how serious can be that issue? Is it something that in a future will compromise safety and/or performance? Can it be fixed without replacing that keel?

Looking forward to some help here.

Piotr
Sorry I could not provide you with pictures :/
plpioko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2015, 09:51   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Bumps on a steel keel

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Piotr.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2015, 11:05   #3

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop

Welcome Aboard, Piotr,

There are some really savvy boat people here on CF. Sorry, I'm not in that league. However, when you can post a PM, you might try <minaret> or <Maine Sail>.... You really need someone with enough engineering background to tell you whether the steel is okay, or weakened by the heat and stretching of the metal. Interesting problem you have, sir.