Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2018, 14:03   #1

Bruce Roberts barn find- is it worth it?

So I've spent last couple years working, saving and sacrificing so I can hang it up in my early fifties, probably have two to three years left and I will be ready. The plan was to either start a boat build (catamaran) or find a monohull that needs some attention and work towards putting together a sailboat I can live on and see the world. Now I've been a contractor my whole life and have taken on many large projects, so building a boat will not be as overwhelming for me as it would probably be for most. As well as I have many friends who also work in the trades and we've always helped each other out with projects etc. so I have scoured every sailboat ad for the last several years, even considered hurricane damaged boats but nothing has really done it for me. Yesterday I'm looking at a local ad for boat sales and I come across an ad that says free boat, 43' Bruce Robert steel hull, I guess the husband built this boat for twenty years and it was titled ad licensed in 05 and he passed away around this time. The boat has sat since then in a wooded lot, the interior was finished but who knows what it's like now. There's no engine or mast. So this boat is only two hours away from me, I'm not sure what the transport fees would run or if it would be worth the effort to bring this thing back. I know it would be pretty expensive and what is it going to be worth when finished. I hear guys on here say, just because it says free doesn't mean it's a good idea, there's usually a reason they're free. So I'm just looking for some