Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2015, 11:48   #31

Boat: Alden auxiliary ketch 48'
Re: Best Sailboat for Great Lakes Sailing

Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeSuperior View Post
Rule of thumb cruising in the Great Lakes, you will sail 50% and motor 50% if you are on any kind of schedule.

I have been sailing on the Great Lakes for over 50 years. I know a little bit about that. But, sailing "on a schedule"? If you HAVE to be somewhere by a certain time, you should be driving.

It's just called planning. Not hard to do with marinas within a days sail or motor. I can motor all day on a single tank of gas with my A4 and have much left over. Pull in, gas up, get a bite, walk the town. SOP on the lakes.

If you need a bit more gas, buy a couple of jerry cans, fill 'em up and strap them to the deck. Easy peasy.

Replacing a perfectly good working motor in a 53 y/o boat is not in my cards. I get along just fine, as do the thousands of folks who maintain A4s in their boats. What is being presented here is a non-issue.
Old 25-08-2015, 12:08   #32

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyoldboatguy View Post
I have been sailing on the Great Lakes for over 50 years. I know a little bit about that. But, sailing "on a schedule"? If you HAVE to be somewhere by a certain time, you should be driving.

It's just called planning. Not hard to do with marinas within a days sail or motor. I can motor all day on a single tank of gas with my A4 and have much left over. Pull in, gas up, get a bite, walk the town. SOP on the lakes.