Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2012, 17:05   #1

Boat: Bostrøm 31
Beginner going live abroad, need a tad help...

Hello to everyone of you!
I want to buy myself a sailboat (mono), live in it an sail the world... I have NO sailing experience at all, never been on a sailboat. But I love the seas and want to live here more. I work as a fisherman now so i'm out at sea most of the year already.
I want to get a boat that could be sailed by one person with not too much hassle..
Iv'e read a bit about sailing an found out that i can't just buy a ok looking boat and go everywhere.. I need help.. I do not need luxury, i would be a shoestring-sailor i think.. Or, at least on a tight budget.
As far as i understand so far in my reading i would be best to get a -30fot boat to start with, and maybe +30 later sometime..
My budget on buying will be around 30k, hopefully this includes fixing and making it sea worthy. I know this is tight, but i also know it's possible with ease.
So what do i need to look for to get a boat worthy of big seas and long travels?
I hope to buy this during next summer or sooner.
Oh, and i'm a 28 y/o hippie dude from norway..
I might have 1 other person with me, at least from time to time, and ofc friends wanting to go on shorter trips. But it will mainly be for 1-2 people.
I'm sure i have 1000 more questions, but this will do for now^^

Peace
cner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 17:11   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Re: Beginner going live abroad, need a tad help...

Welcome aboard cner...

You certainly have a fair amount of sea time so you know what to expect out there.

In general the compromise are cost, performance and ruggedness.