Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 11-06-2008, 06:53   #1

Am I dreaming? First boat - US to Aus $15000

Hi,

Please excuse my dreaming and this most probably very naive and first post to this forum.

As I sit here trying to study for my exams and procrastinating I am looking at the yachts on Ebay and some of them seem pretty cheap and bluewater capable. I have had a long dream to do some offshore sailing and am wondering if it would be possible to buy one of these yachts for $15000 US or less and sail it back to Australia. I guess the most likely route would be straight to Hawaii and then Island hop back to Sydney.

Given I am really a novice blue water sailor in terms of navigation and the rest of it, I was also wondering if there was any old sor young sea dogs, female or male who would be willing to pass on their experience and take on such a trip?

Ok...you can tell me I am dreaming now

Cheers

TIm

Old 11-06-2008, 08:45   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
The begining of a reasonably correct answer to your question would have to begin with the specific yacht type in question.

No one will say it can't be done but $15,000 for a boat capable to do a pacific crossing is a long putt as they say in the golf world.

So what specific boat(s) did you have in mind?

BTW - Welcome Aboard! Now get back to work and get your exams done! - LOL

Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:07   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Beneteau FIRST 42
It can be done, as someone I know bought an older Choy-Lee Lion with a bad motor for 3,500. he pulled the motor, pluged the hole and added a sculling oar..
They left a couple years ago and had been seen down in Mexico bound for the islands....
Most people heading for the land of Oz from the US, skirt the coast and jump off in Mexico bound for the French Islands of the south pacific. then Island hop to the land down under.......