Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2018, 08:53   #1

Advice on chartering on The Chesapeake

I have been sailing Oklahoma lakes for 35 years, currently own a 25ft sloop that I sail 35-40 days a year and am wanting to expand my sailing horizons. I am thinking of chartering a 36 ft sailboat on The Chesapeake near Baltimore for a few days and staying at different marinas each night to experience the local sights. I have ASA 101,103,and 104 ratings.
I was thinking about anchoring out at night but wouldn't experience the local atmosphere and not sure of good anchorages available. My idea is to fly into BWI rent a car and leave it at the charterers marina on the east shore and drop the car off at DCA after spending a day in DC sightseeing.
Is October a good time of year to do this, average temps seem to be 69F day and 52F night. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Ranger_12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2018, 11:52   #2

Boat: Maine Cat 38
Re: Advice on chartering on The Chesapeake

October is prime cruising on the Chesapeake. I will be cruising the Chesapeake the first three weeks of October.

One can spend a lifetime exploring anchorages in the Chesapeake. I suspect your charter is out of Rock Hall, and the charter company can help with anchorage suggestions. From Rock Hall going north consider Wharton Creek and the Sassafrass River. Going south the Chester River is great to explore. Further south St Michaels, Oxford, and Annapolis are all fun to visit.