Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2014, 20:19   #1

Boat: 1969 Grampian Classic 31'
1969 Grampian Classic 31, on the CHEAP!

Hello, and thanks for having me!

First off, I am new to sailing (I sailed a little sunfish for an afternoon 25 years ago).

I'm not new to fixing things up. I have been riding and fixing my own motorcycles for 23 years now. I have build frame up choppers, dirt bikes, and road racing bikes. I have 15 years low voltage and AC expereince with the phone company. My point in all this is I know how to fix stuff. I also know how to rig stuff up (call it what you want) to get it to work.

I'm also not new to online forums. I am very well aware of the different personalities that are online. I will ask this: if you are a sailing/ woodworking/ fiberglass/ mechanic "purist", stop reading now, and find something better to do with your time. I am going to ask how to short cut, rig up, and spend the least amount of the little money I'm going to put into this boat to make it work!

With that being said, and since you are still reading, let me give you the history of my Wandering Star. The baot sank at the dock a few years ago. I was told the toilet valve was let open, it back flowed into the boat and sank. Now, fast forward, two people have owned it whose goals were to live aboard and so they started working on cosmetics, although they didn't get too far.