Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2015, 16:07   #1
Jil

Boat: soon...
1968 Tartan 27

I am leaning towards purchasing a 1968 Tartan 27. I am completely new to owning a boat. I have a 3 years experience helping out a friend work on his boat in exchange for sailing. I've done some engine work but, it was a diesel- the boat was a Morgan designed TMI.

I still consider myself a "new" sailor. I have at least 30 sails out of the Beaufort Inlet each lasting 3-5 days in many small craft advisories with another person who had 30 years experience. Very little calm water experience.... I don't plan on doing this with the Tartan.

Is this boat a good single hander? For someone who never has?

I took this boat out with the owner the other day and have spent the past 40 hours in front of my computer trying to read everything about this boat.

My biggest concern about this boat is the A4 engine and water damage. The boat was left for 10 months in rain which caused the cabin to fill with 6 inches of water over the floorboards- the engine was partially submerged. A waterline I saw looked more like 10 inches. I was told it was all freshwater. I don't know how long it was in water. The floors are not flat anymore.

The owner filled the engine with oil and emptied it a couple times per his own research.

We took the boat out and the engine ran but, there was a fair amount of smoke which he assured me as normal. The gauges, although new in 2013, don't work so it was hard to tell what was happening. I pushed the engine to full throttle and backed off a bit- there was more smoke. The fumes in the cabin were almost intolerable with the hatches open.

The alternator squealed a lot when switching from battery 1 to 2- he adjusted some belts and it went away.