Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2018, 16:50   #1

So new I squeak

I'm looking for opportunities to sail and learn and am willing to contribute to the ship's kitty for the opportunity. I'm looking for something 30+ days into the future to allow for discussion, plane tickets, and arrangements.

Aside from ski & fishing boats and a few cruises, I have no experience on the water. So, of course, at 58, I decide I want to learn to sail to expand my travelings. Since I retired in 2012, I've covered almost 200,000 miles by plane and lots of road trips (my last was from Austin, Tx to Tuktoyaktuk, NWT). I was looking at future trips and realized how much simpler, and hopefully better, they would be by sea than flying over everything below.

I'm currently prepping for my ASA 101 class on 12/22 with videos, reading articles, and pre-reading the materials for the class. The think I'm missing is time on the water. I'm planning a trip down South America and would love to sail there as crew but I'm working on getting skills and knowledge so I won't be more trouble than I'm worth.

So if you're open to taking on a neophyte, swapping tales (not all tall), and passing some horizons, I'll hope to hear from you.

Thanks for your time.

Bob
(Out of Austin, Tx)

PvilleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 17:57   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: So new I squeak