Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2019, 20:27   #1

Nov 2019-Mar 2020, Single/48/F Looking to Avoid N. Amer Winter

Hello, Cruisers! I am a recently retired US veteran looking to escape the North American winter this year. I have always dreamed about sailing and have not had the opportunity to do so until now. I hope someone has a boat out there that can help my dream come true. I will be available from mid-November until the end of March and am able to board from just about anywhere. I hope to hear from you soon!
PatBonetar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2019, 14:15   #2

Re: Nov 2019-Mar 2020, Single/48/F Looking to Avoid N. Amer Winter

Hi Pat,
nice to meet you here.
what qualifies you as a boat crew member and what was your position / task in the military?

I have in mind to go from west palm beach florida to cockburn town on a mcgregor 26. I am a boating professional and have all safety / medical ENG1, STCW, AFF, up to date. My experience is on motoryachts though and I don't know much about sailing. with a mcgregor one can stay close to shore and beach the boat at night. With empty ballast tank you can use it as a motorboat (if we can find fuel).
I have spent over a week in the BVI's with a friend on a 15" RIB with a 15hp engine.
Tortola, jost van dyke, bitter end, willy T, ... sleeping on the beach or in front of the all inclusive hotel on their sun chairs and showering on the beach. 300 miles in a dinghy, I had the blast of my lifetime.