Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2017, 14:16   #1

Boat: Lagoon 42
ARC Nov-Dec 2017

Hello all. I will be on sabbatical in 2017-2018 and available to crew in the upcoming Canaries-St. Lucia ARC. I will be available to join the boat in the Canaries or mainland Spain as needed. I have a profile in OceanCreLink but I wanted to put the ad here in case any of you know of possible crewing opportunities.

I race in the Great Lakes and have completed multiple ASA and RYA courses up to RYA Coastal Skipper. I have some blue water experience, including crewing on the Eastbound ARC in 2016 (BVI-Bermuda leg) - references available. I am comfortable doing compass steering, night watches, chart navigation, cooking (I'm the cook in my house) and any other crew role. I have experience in both catamarans and monohulls (up to 45ft) including FP Helia 44 (skipper), Bavaria 45 (Skipper), Lagoon 39 (Skipper), Oceanis 400 (Skipper/student), Dehler 40 (crew/student), Island Spirit 40 Cat (crew/student), Catalina 30 (crew), J24 (skipper and racing crew), Prout 40 (crew - ocean passage). I am interested in gaining blue water miles for future YM exam and in preparation for own circumnavigation.

When not sailing, I'm a professor at a University in the USA. I have a very laid back, amicable personality and integrate well with any crew. I am originally from Venezuela although I have lived in the USA for the last 25 years. I speak fluent Spanish and English. I do not smoke, but I am ok if others do.

I am vegetarian but very easy going about it. I don't expect any special food accommodations - I simply let others eat my fish rations. I am respectful of everyone's food choices. Being a vegetarian does not interfere with my ability to do any crew role.