Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2007, 13:18   #1

World Cruiser

Hi I am new to sailin, with very little experience. However, I am very ambitious and would like depart to travel the world within the next few years. I am wondering what size of boat and type would be best suited. I want to have very few limitations on where I can go. I want to extensively sail the north, the south, as well as the south pacific island chains and the carribean. I want a vessel sea worthy enough to take on Cape Horn. There will be 2-3 of us on the voyage(which I guess would have the most implcations on size). I am most interested in a very reliable and durable boat, not as much as super luxury, but want it to be well outfitted. Also can anyone recomend a good book, one on sailing basics, two on offshore cruising/world cruising.

Thank you for your time,

Ryan
aroundtheworldsoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2007, 13:36   #2

Location: Winter land based UK New Forest. Summer months away. Making the transition from sail to power this year - scary stuff.
Boat: Super Van Craft 1320 Power Yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to swagman
Welcome Ryan

Wow.

Good to hear of the plans but some might say the concept of tackling Cape Horn whilst also admitting inexperience is difficult to balance.

I'm from the EU so it might be better for other forum users perhaps based Stateside to respond on what style of boat you could select. You are sure to get a variety of responses as most sailors are pretty 'one eyed' about what they believe is best. It's usually what they chose for themselves.