Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2009, 07:31   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fort Pierce, FL. Texas Roots
Boat: 82 Present, 13 ft dinghy
Posts: 492
Wireless Net Availability

It is common knowledge that much of the Gulf of Mexico is checkered with oil platforms, I guess to as much as 1 hundred miles out. That being said, when in the vicinity of a working rig, are there wireless internet networks available to piggy back on for offshore communication??????
__________________

__________________
Mule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 08:40   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,772
Don't waste your time. The ones that have wireless are manned, and at least 80' above the water. You'd need to be moored to the platform and climb about halfway up to get useable wireless. Last platform I was on was password protected (bandwidth is expensive out there).
__________________

__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 09:25   #3
Registered User
 
john540's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Paradise Cay
Boat: Hylas 47
Posts: 167
I'm using a 3G broadband connection I purchased in Cabo San Lucas. It's inexpensive, and it works anywhere there's a cell signal. You buy it at the Telcel store, but they only carry them in stock in the bigger cities. The small towns can get you one, but you have to order them in advance. It's called "Banda Ancha". Make sure you bring your passport with you when you go to purchase it, or you will have to make another trip.
__________________
john540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:18   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,772
Offshore GOM has cell service available, but like everything else out there, the infrastructure is neither inexpensive nor paid for. They will charge you airtime accordingly.
__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:42   #5
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,770
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
i wouldnt worry about internet connections until hitting port, as most wifi is locked and requires a password to unlock-also has such short range..half mile max, isnt it??-there are free wifi areas in many cruising areas, but this is something that is dependent upon the area..goood luck--i use a broadband dial up card and do not worry about wifi--i am able to use my card wherever there is a cellular tower....for a fee...up to a few miles away from said tower...my sprint card works in mexico and usvi for no more charge than in usa.....
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2009, 18:33   #6
Registered User
 
Orion Jim's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Noank, Ct. USA
Boat: Cape Dory 31
Posts: 1,075
Images: 6
Help

"i use a broadband dial up card and do not worry about wifi--i am able to use my card wherever there is a cellular tower....for a fee...up to a few miles away from said tower...my sprint card works in mexico and usvi for no more charge than in usa..... "

I find much of this tech talk confusing. Is there a site which explains in laymans terms how I could get web access afloat? Would a visit to a cellphone retailer help? I don't have a buddy to say, first do this, then do this, etc. I've been a user for years but never had to set anything up. Thanks for the advice.
__________________
Orion Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2009, 20:48   #7
Registered User
 
FLKokopelli's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cruising Aboard currently in St Augustine, FL
Boat: Ingrid 38 Cutter S/V Kokopelli
Posts: 27
We have a 3G AT&T wireless card that was often useless as we cruise the Georgetown SC through the outerbanks of NC. It did work in (Little) Washington, NC, but not in Bellehaven or Beaufort NC.So it really depends on your 3G vendor's area of coverage.Luckily for us those areas without 3G we did have access to local WIFI service, so all was not lost.
__________________
FLKokopelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2009, 05:05   #8
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hud3's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Posts: 8,929
Images: 49
Jim Walsh,

There are a number of threads on the topic of Internet access afloat. Click on the link in my signature and do some keyword searches. I'm sure you'll find a lot to read!
__________________

__________________
Hud
Hud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Availability of Fruits / Veggies in Bahamas / Caribbean ? Homespun Provisioning: Food & Drink 32 06-10-2009 10:18
Darwin - Fuel Availability svBeBe Pacific & South China Sea 4 23-08-2009 15:23
Harken Furler and Foils Availability skipgundlach Classifieds Archive 0 27-06-2009 14:42
Internet Costs and Availability Snodgrasses Dollars & Cents 7 31-07-2008 09:13
WiFi availability Kai Nui Marine Electronics 28 28-03-2006 21:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.