Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2016, 08:05   #16
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: What's A Cruiser?

I enjoy sailing, had much rather sail than motor, I'm actually beginning to have a hate relationship with the motor.
Which is funny as power is my background, I'm a very good mechanic, the Yanmar has been nothing but reliable. All my experience is under power.

I too became a Sailor to be a cruiser, if I had the finances, I would be in a big Nordhaven or similar, no doubt, but my boat just acts and rides and is so much more pleasant under sail, we don't even mind the heeling, but she doesn't heel much either.

I'm a cruiser wanna be, one yr left, then we go when we get the youngest in College. I'm pushing her towards Brunswick Ga, nice school she seems to like it, but there is a nice Marina nearby

You know cruisers when they come through my Marina, the ground tackle and they way the boat is equipped gives them away, and often the amount of "stuff" on deck, they are usually, older boats, a lot of Morgan OI's and the like, most of the time dinghies in Davits and Solar.
They are markedly different boats than people who cruise, but do so from one Marina to the other. Even the powerboats that are on the great loop are seemingly very distinctly two different kinds, the kind that overnights in marinas and the kind that anchor, and they are usually equipped differently.
So I guess even among cruisers, there are distinctly different types?

Sent from my iPad Pro using Cruisers Sailing Forum
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2016, 08:12   #17

Boat: a sailing boat

To me, it seems a mindset thing. One I do not have nor share, voluntarily. Not to say I do not find myself cruising when I can't be out sailing.