Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-08-2012, 05:20   #1

Boat: Currently boatless
What Book of Knots?

Whats the best book out there, in you guys opinions, for a new sailor to teach themselves how to tie knots? Im just learning to sail and need the practice. Thanks!
RDSMITH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 05:32   #2

Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Re: What book of knots?

Amazon.com: Handbook of Knots (9781405304672): Des Pawson: Books

Mark

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 05:51   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, RDSMITH.

The “Ashley Book of Knots” (ABOK) < Ashley Book of Knots - Free eBooks Download > may be the gold standard, but for your purposes, I’d recommend a couple of Free Online guides:

Animated Knots by GrogBoating Knots | How to Tie Boating Knots | Animated Boating Knots

Boy Scout’s Knot Guidehttp://boyscouttroop330.org/wp-conte...Knot-Tying.pdf

or by Brion Toss ➥ Brion Toss Yacht Riggers, Sailboat Rigging::Books
A Chapman`s Nautical Guide ~ by Brion Toss ($10.00)
The Complete Rigger's Apprentice ~ by Brion Toss ($39.95)

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 05:59   #4

Boat: S2-9.2 CC & IP40

There are also multiple apps available for iPads and smart phones.....some free that will animate how to tie the knots for you.
You can also goggle for websites that do likewise!
WebWench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 06:10   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais