Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2016, 02:13   #1

Boat: Tayana 37
Visa for Cruisers

Hi Everyone

I'm new to cruising and am wondering how entry visas are dealt with when cruisers enter a country by boat. If a country normally requires a visa to be applied for, and granted, prior to entering the country (when flying in), does this still apply when entering via a port on a yacht? Or is there a special condition for cruisers and a "visa on arrival" is available.

Thanks heaps for your feedback

Cheers Darren
Old 12-12-2016, 02:29   #2

Location: San Diego, California - Read about our circumnavigation at www.rutea.com
Boat: Contest 48
Re: Visa for Cruisers

In my experience, if a country requires a visa prior to entering that country, it doesn't matter how you arrive. For example, Australia requires a visa for most foreign visitors and woe be unto you if you arrive without one. Brazil also requires a visa in advance but we were able to stop at Fernando de Naronha, an island off the Brazilian coast, and were able to clear Customs and Immigration without a visa but it wouldn't have been the same if we went to the Brazilian mainland. Some countries allow you to apply for a visa on line, eg Australia, while some countries require that you apply only from your home country, eg India.

Fair winds and calm seas.
nhschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2016, 05:31   #3
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold

www.noonsite.com is a cruiser site that has C&I info for many countries around the world.
Old 12-12-2016, 06:39   #4
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Visa for Cruisers