Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2013, 22:41   #1

Boat: 1993 Hunter H28
The next learning curve: Meteorology?

After reading this tonight, "A very dangerous 936 mb storm peaked today over the western North Pacific with a min pressure of 932 mb and is moving northeast at 25 knots with hurricane force winds and very high sea and swell conditions. Hurricane Sandy, by comparison, reached a minimum pressure of 940 millibars and was the largest Atlantic hurricane in recorded history."

I realized how little I know about the weather and understanding the forecast. I studied the governnment text, "The Wind Blows Always" which taught a little about prevailing weather pressure-slopes but I didn't get much out of it.

My Barometer only tells me one thing, pressure is rising or falling giving me a clue as to what is coming. I don't pay much attention to what the millibars are.

So 932 mb is an extreme low found only in a huge hurricane?
How high can the pressure go?

What equipment do you rely on for weather forecasts while passage making?

How easy is it to see an approaching storm and avoid it when at sea?

What books best prepare a sailor?

Thanks!
eliems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 23:45   #2

Re: The next learning curve: Meteorology?