Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2015, 03:37   #1

The Do's & Don't s When Buying a used Nauticat 33

Hello to all reading this thread.

I am presently looking to see what's available in the the used market for a Nauticat 33. I see that there is a lot of variances for this model - is there a good and bad model?

I am a retired Mine Maintenance Manager so I know about 400t dump trucks and the likes but what I don't know about is what to look at when I do a visual inspection of a vessel. I know the vessel will need to have a survey out of the water but what I'm looking for is a ready made check list of the things that I need to look at.

My experience with motor sailors or yachts is zero so any suggestion will be gratefully received.

Thank you in advance

Robert
Silver Fern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2015, 04:07   #2

Boat: Jeanneau SO 43 DS
Re: The Do's & Don't s When Buying a used Nauticat 33

The Nauticat is a nice boat. You don't say where you are, but friends of ours have a 10-year old 331 which they ordered new from the factory. I wanted to comment about variants to the model. They ordered it new & had an exceptional number of options when selecting the layout, rigging, etc. In their case they selected two double cabins with two heads--that's a lot for a 33' boat. My point is there are probably as many variants to that hull design as there are 331's.

If you happen to desire a nice 331, professionally maintained, with original owner who is selling due to advancing age--PM me. She is in England though.
Prairie Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2015, 04:35   #3