Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-09-2012, 03:38   #1

Boat: S&S 34
Tangalooma Wrecks

Hi to all, I'm planning on sailing (S&S 34) from Mooloolabah to Tangalooma wrecks for a night, winds are looking favorable at E/NE. As it will be my first trip over there is there any preferred anchorage areas at or around the wrecks?
Appreciate any advise.

Dozza
Dozza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2012, 03:50   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Tangalooma Wrecks

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Dozza.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2012, 03:53   #3

Thanks mate.
Old 16-09-2012, 04:10   #4
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.

Mate, I have zero recent Tanga's experience but a lifetime ago, we used to try to anchor as close to shore as possible behind the wrecks. IIRC, the tidal stream was fairly strong and would tend to hold you parallel to the shore regardless of the wind; however hopefully someone with recent local experience will chime in.

It used to very crowded on weekends but mid week wasn't so bad.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2012, 04:15   #5

Inside the wrecks, depth about 5 meters, you will not be happy if the wind is strong from S toW to N. Wrecks are on a bank shy of 200m from island.
Old 16-09-2012, 04:26   #6

Thanks for the replies. Winds are predicted to be E/NE 10-15knts so should be suited. Looking fwd to the trip.
Old 16-09-2012, 04:44   #7