Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 04-07-2012, 18:54   #1

"Starter" Sailboat

I am relatively new to sailing and looking for a good starter keelboat. I will be sailing mostly on a large lake with intent to mostly daycruise (though wouldnt rule out short overnights down the road). Looking to spend around $7000 or less. So far I have looked at:
1975 San Juan 24
1980s Pearson 25
1984 Seafarer 26
1980s Catalina 25

Any thoughts?

Old 04-07-2012, 18:59   #2

Boat: Tartan 30
Re: "starter" sailboat

Unless you plan to keep it docked at a marina in the lake, I'd focus on lifting keels, and easy to launch trailerables. The Catalina 22 would be a more likely candidate. Or, if you want to have a bit more fun, something like a Merit 22 or Santana 2023

If you need something bigger (or cheaper), an older McGreggor would not be unreasonable.

Old 04-07-2012, 19:04   #3

I do plan on keeping it at a marina. Several factors make trailable less than ideal and choices in our area fairly limited.
Old 04-07-2012, 19:13   #4

Boat: Tartan 30

Well in that case, I'd say your list is pretty good. I think the San Juan, s2's and the pearson 26 would be better sailors than the P25, C25, and seafarer. Also look at other Santanas.

I think you'll find that a shallow draft lifting keel is still more desirable than a fixed keel in a lake setting. Anchoring close to shore, and in small nooks, 'parking' at the slipway dock etc... is a major plus.

Not to mention, unless you find the boat already on the lake, you'll need to trailer it home and occasionally haul it out.
Old 04-07-2012, 21:03   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cascade, Sloop, 42 - "Casual"

Of the ones you've mentioned I know the build quality of one but I don't know how they compare to the others. In each case, I'd pick the boat that appears to have the best care and take a magnet to the keel to make certain it is lead instead of steel.