Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 05:24   #1

Boat: Prout 46
St. Augustine Marine Center Problems

I recently had a bad experience hauling out at St Augustine Marine Center. I've been hauling out there for the last 12 years. I won't again. I've talked to several people in the marine business in the area that have expressed concerns about the company. Does anybody know what's going on there?
Kashmir cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:47   #2
cruiser

Boat: O'day 32 CC Ketch
Re: St. Augustine Marine Center Problems

So what happened?
RabidRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:48   #3
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat

They are major "rent seekers" They fired nearly all there staff a few years back (not myself or anyone I know closely)

Now they look to make there money off the backs of others by adding a 30% surcharge to any work done in the yard by independents.

Oasis is a much better owner run yard, but travel lift will only handle 21' beam.

I think St Augustine Marine is OK for large cat storage only, but make sure you agree on all prices, etc ahead of time.
Old 10-02-2013, 05:57   #4

Boat: 38/41 Fountains pajot

I can personally tell you their Westerbeke "Pro" sucks.

They charge outrageous prices, for motor mounts for prior owner only to forget to tighten all 4 mounts. 1 hour from dock the motor came completly unaligned and I had to re tighten all 4 motor mounts. It hasnt loosened since, they just forgot to tighten them.
Dulcesuenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:39   #5
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat