Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 18:24   #1

Boat: Seaward 25
pirate Shallow draft fin keel question

Greetings all. This is my first post on this forum so go easy on me. I have learned so much from reading the threads here. Thank you all so much! I own a Seaward 25 built in 1997. I have been sailing it on Lake Michigan and Lake Superior for the past 6 years. Have sailed larger boats in the sea of Cortez, Bvi, and grenadines. My boat has a high freeboard, draws 2ft, and weighs only 3,600lb. It has a Westerbeak 18 ph diesel. It is the boat I can afford and I love it.I am comfortable sailing in up to 25 knots. Have been on the hook at 60 knots. I have thought about taking the boat south to the Bahamas or farther south. My 2 questions are...... If a person waits for weather, are the conditions mentioned above available in the Bahamas and farther south. Besides being more buoyant, will the boat sail differently due to salt water? Any comments will be helpful. Cheers to all.
Drifter2drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 18:35   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Shallow draft fin keel question

First, doubt you will see any difference in how your boat floats or sails in salt vs fresh water.