Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2018, 11:14   #1

Boat: 1987 Sabre 42 C/B
sea time

I am relatively new to ocean sailing (not sailing in general) and would like to get some sea time. I have my ASA cerifications 101,103,104,105 and have chartered. My family is not interested in spending our short 1 week vacations ocean sailing. They like hanging out at anchor and seeing stuff which doesn't translate to ocean miles, standing watch and the like. I am not at a point in my life where I can take weeks off to take advantage of most opportunities I can find. Does anyone know of opportunities that are a few days at a time? Not looking for destinations, just sailing. Head off shore for 24-36 hours and then turn around and sail back. Would be looking for sailing opportunities from the SE coast of US

I would not think I would be alone in my situation of having limited time but the desire for some ocean miles/experience.

Thanks for the suggestions if any.

Foster
flee27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2018, 14:49   #2

Re: sea time

Just to clear up my request. I am not looking for free sailing. I have problem being a "paying customer"

Thanks

Foster
Old 19-03-2018, 15:05   #3

Boat: Outbound 44

Maybe you could fit in one of the shorter courses from

Mahina seminars
Old 19-03-2018, 16:27   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Hi Foster,

Are you strictly limited to a few days max? If your schedule is flexible and you could devote maybe a week you could probably pick up a number of crew positions with boaters moving their boats north and south up the US east coast with the seasons.