Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 15:10   #1

Sails??

So Im new to the game and trying to learn as much as posible. I am curious about sail types and makers, and coast. Whats good and the best/wrost.
virgdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 17:46   #2

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
I've found over the years that I get pretty much what I pay for in cruising sails. Lots of people make good cruising sails all over the world.

My mainsail lasted 11 years before the dacron cloth rotted, but the stitching never failed. I still use my original genoa for running downwind, but it is stretched out of shape and isn't good for windward sailing. After sailing downwind in the trades across the Pacific, the panels on the genoa were stretched. I had Simon Willis in the Bay of Islands make me a new genoa which was cut differently and did a better job of maintaining its shape in the boisterous trade winds.

Fancy composite sails tend to have a fancy price tag. Many of the exotic materials will give you perfect go fast shape, but the sails won't last as long. The exotic materials may not like repeated stresses in the fabric which may break down the fabric.

As a cruiser I wanted durability and affordabilitiy first, and perfect shape second. If I was a racer with deep pockets, I would want perfect shape, and I would change my sails at least once a year.

There is no single answer to your question. You have to decide what you want from your sails and how much you are willing to spend. When you answer those two questions, it should be easy to find someone to create what you want.
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 20:05   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais