Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2014, 08:57   #1

Boat: Tanzer 27
Sailing the Hudson to Long Island Sound

I'm in the process of buying a sailboat and I need to get her home. The sailboat is on the Hudson River in Beacon, NY and I need to sail her to the North Shore of Eastern Long Island. I am a newbie sailor and will be traveling with an experienced sailor. I will be sailing on a 27' sailboat with a 9.9HP outboard. I will be bringing a back up outboard just in case. How long should this voyage take? Must I only sail when the current is going in the right direction? How long will the Hudson River portion of the trip take? Any tips or advice is much appreciated. This trip will be at the end of April early May.
larman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 17:47   #2

Boat: Sabre 36
Re: Sailing the Hudson to Long Island Sound

I have made this trip in the other direction from Noank, CT down to Raritan Bay, NJ on a Pearson 26 with a 9.9 two stroke in mid 90's. The last long day was from Eastchester Bay, NY to Keyport, NJ. Before that it took two long days to get down the sound. I Have done it many other times on larger auxiliaries.

On the Pearson 26 I carried three 10 gallon red portable fuel tanks.