Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 27-04-2013, 08:21   #1

Boat: Chrysler Mutineer 15
Sailing Schools

First time post.

I have no experience with sailing, having lived in the Las Vegas desert all my life but am interested in learning. Possibly taking it up in retirement which is 13 years down the line. Before that I would like to take the occasional sailing vacation with my family. I'm assuming that there is no place at Lake Mead, which is the closest boy of water, that a person can learn to sail. However, we are planning a Hawaiian vacation in 2015. Do any of you know a good sailing school that we can go to at that time?

Old 27-04-2013, 08:29   #2

Boat: hunter 31
Re: Sailing Schools

You may want to clarify where in Hawaii you expect to be.

Old 27-04-2013, 08:59   #3

We don't have any specific plans as to where in Hawaii. The location is up in the air at this time. It's two years in the future, so the plans are fluid at this time.
Old 27-04-2013, 09:12   #4

Boat: Macgregor 21

I am similarly situated - live in Arizona but plan to take sailing lessons soon. I've looked into it a bit and there are ASA sailing classes offered locally in lakes around Phoenix.

I don't want to tell you how to spend your time in Hawaii, but I probably would not recommend taking the sailing classes while on vacation in Hawaii. There is a book and class time involved and I am guessing that is not how you want to spend a portion of your Hawaiian vacation.

My recommendation is to plan a couple of long weekend trips over to Los Angeles or San Diego. There are several places offering sailing classes and bareboat certification.

Again, I've not done any of this yet either, so I fully admit that I am offering advice without any basis in actual knowledge.

This is a list of ASA Sailing Schools in California -

California Sailing Schools | Learn to Sail with American Sailing Association