Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 18:24   #1

Boat: Hughes Boatworks 27.5
Sailing FAIL

So I have an old Hughes 27 that since March I have bee refinishing and polishing for months. Being consistently short handed and an absolute noob to sailing, I've only put the sails up a few times. I brought the boat from Biscayne Bay up to Ft Lauderdale for new bottom paint. Going against the wind I motored the 30 miles up to Ft Lauderdale. Anyway, Saturday I brough the boat back down to Miami and had the wind to the stern so I ventured to unfurl the jib on several occations. there was a stiff 18-23 knot wind but the boat was solid and it sure was helping me get back to Miami faster. After a several hours I arrived in Biscayne Bay and decided to to take it to the next step and put up the main. I was trying troubleshoot a problem with getting main to fully extend to the top. About that time 2 consecutive 100 foot ships came roaring by at 30 miles an hour! We took the waves to the side which sent the boat and mast swinging violently side to side. Somewhere in beween that and holding on for my life the mainsail ripped in half! If the process of freaking out I started loosening lines trying to get the tatered main under control as it beat me like a stupid step child. Finally I got it under control and decided to furl the Jib and realized that one of the lines that I had loosened allowed the furling system to drop down a few feet and I couldn't get it to pull back up to the top so that I could furl the jib. Even tried to winch it up to the top before dropping the winch handle in bay! Anyway, my second beating ensued as I manualy tried to wrap the jib. I did get it close enough to wrapped that I could tie the wad of sail into a pittiful klump of fabric! Having been the entertain