Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 28-07-2012, 17:15   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Mariner 40 Ketch 40'
Route to Panama from RI

I am new to Ocean Sailing. I plan to cruise the Pacific Ocean and to get there from Rhode Island I need first go to Panama and cross the canal. My plan is to cast off late October or early November 2012. Since I do not want to make the milk run through the ICW, which is time consuming, I plan to get out to the ocean.

I would appreciate suggestions and experience, what route to take and more or less how much time I need for this first leg of my cruising plan. The boat I am sailing is a Mariner 40, two men on board.

BMiklos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 17:47   #2

Boat: private yacht always moving
Re: Route to Panama from RI

the farther out you go the less the gulf stream will hinder you. I use to go 150 miles out than head south. that was on a 120 foot sailboat but see no reason you could not do it with a smaller one. Sooner out of the gulf stream the better

captainKJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 18:25   #3

Boat: DUFOUR 12000 CT - 45' - SANS SOUCI

Go around East end of Cuba
sanssouci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-07-2012, 18:30   #4

Boat: Jeanneau 40 DS SoulMates

bmilkos -- you got a few options --
first we do not like the icw either except getting around hatteras which can be a bit of a wait - you can run down and get around hatteras and cape fear either inside or outside and if you check where the gs is you can lie inside of it and go all the way to miami - we have done it a few times and there are 2 of us so if we feel like a break there are a few places to duck in for wx or rest
but once past sc we go stright to miami on the outside

from miami you can either go to the bahamas then thru the windward passage past jamaica and straight to panama - we did a reverse route from panama to jamaica going 42% on the wind the entire way so for you it would be a down wind sail