Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 05:16   #211

Re: Regret to Inform Have Lost my Boat off Honduras...

It might be helpful if we all asked questions first, allowed the OP to answer then in a separate thread perform our analysis.

Just saying.
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 06:17   #212

Boat: CSY 44 Tall rig Sold!

I work as a delivery Skipper in the past and spend few years as a captain in a long private yacht, loosing a boat for many of us is a huge black spot in our CV and probably the end of our career, is amazing this days the amount of boats lost or floating around in the midle of nowhere for strange
circumstances.

I blame this days boat gizmos, yeah i have few in my boat, but anyway basically the new era of sailors put their fait and trust in so many devices and forgot to learn basic skills , saying that ... maybe the 80% of the sailing comunity dont know how to use a sextant, probably the 50% dont know how to rig storm sails, and could be the 50% in case of chartploter fail combined with another tricky failure pulling the trigger. Amazing to see a big bay full of anchored boats and in the horizon a boat grounded and no one giving a crap... and when i say boat gizmos i include that litle 30 gm yanmar,,, but well, years agoo the sea is populated by maybe 4 millions of sailors , this days we are 20 million, examples.... and a huge percentage dont have basic skills to be offshore, the OP is in this percentage ,
saying that there is a saying like ,,, dont go to the sea with fear, just with respect.... Cheers...
neilpride is offline   Reply With Quote