Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 01-11-2013, 16:21   #1

Boat: Island Packet 370
Oriental NC to Tampa Fl

We are in the process of moving our new to us Island Packet 370 from Annapolis to Tampa. So far we have stayed in the ICW and has been a great trip.We have now left the boat in Oriental and returned to Indiana. Our original plan was to go the whole way via ICW, but we have run short on time and need to not spend as long getting to Florida.

We have contacted a well known experienced delivery captain about helping us go outside the rest of the way. Unfortunately we did not get the idea to talk to him till just a couple of days ago. He basically said he was interested in doing the delivery and had a time slot starting November 22 he is now headed on a trip to the Caribbean so we really cant talk to him more for several days.

We are not total newbies but are far from experienced sailors. Our experience level is as follows. Power boating around the Keys and West coast of Florida. We have taken ASA courses thru the ASA104 level. Last September we served as the crew on a delivery from Tampa to Oriental. That trip went very well for us, we did the night watches and the captain and owner did day watches. But we were of course still in summer weather going with the Gulf Stream. Was really a great ride!

If we do the trip with the delivery skipper my wife and I would be the crew. I have a few questions about how this trip might be executed. The captain said we would push South and probably only make two stops for fuel and rest.One of my questions is would it be possible to leave Beaufort inlet and stay inside the gulf stream on the way south. Looking at the pilot chart it appears the Gulf stream west wall is usually near the 100 Fathom curve. Does this not give you enough sea room to be safe? I can see how in case of bad weather you would be trapped between the stream and the coast. Or would it be better to cross the stream and head south?