Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-12-2010, 07:20   #1

Boat: 1974 Cascade 36, 1970's martin 29 racer/cruiser, 40 indonesian teak atkinson project dual mast ketch
Newbie Boat Size / Model Advice ?

This is going to be a bit of a winded Question but Thanks to all that reply and Suffer through this total Noob Questioning.

Im saving up $10,000can for a used late 70's to early 80's 27-32 foot used Sailboat and Outboard for a Live aboard Cruiser. Planing on Taking Sailing Coastal Lessons for $2000 then the long distance ones and Sailing with me and my Wife, From Vancouver along the Coast of North America to Mexico and The top of South America for 4-5months Vacation. Planing on Staying Close to shore for emergencies, i.e 100-200km off mainland Max. Any Ideas for Boats, Size and Model, So far from research online and on here looking into getting a Catalina 27', Bayliner 32', Macgregor 26M, or possibly something around those sizes in a hunter. I need something that has enough Ballast in the bottom So its not going to flip over easy, and handles half decent in rough coastal winds if it has too. Any Advice from some More Seasoned Sailers would be Greatly appreciated.

Thanks Captain_Shawn
Captain-Shawn28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 07:41   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate

Well so far you've named boats to stay well clear of for what you have in mind...
Maybe an Alberg, Islander, Newport or Pearson in the 30ft range... or Tartan...

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' still dance to the beat of the drums.
boatman61 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2010, 07:47   #3

Boat: Bristol 32