Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2008, 08:17   #1
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
MY SAILING ANNIVERSARY

In 93 I was #141 in the Baja Haha, or maybe #142? I single-handed from S.F. Ca. to Cabo as a rookie. I had for 18 months taken Frolic out in every weather nearly the bay threw at me week in & week out. We all know how it is when people don't show up for a sail. At first I would sit on the boat & eat my lunch alone.

Soon I tired of that, so I started going out alone. I would practice gybing for hours in 30+ knot winds. I would practice changing head sails for the sole knowledge of becoming efficient. I studied the current & tide diligently. I read everything I could find, and most if was of mayhem & destruction.

Eventually I left alone thinking I was prepared. The bay is a hard knocks school, but the ocean will beat you down with a club. I had a lot of second thoughts going out the Gate the day before Thanksgiving, and some of it was FEAR. What I feared most was to stay on the bay, and not explore.

I learned a lot on that trip to Cabo. I sailed around Point Conception in 50+ mph winds with a scrap of cloth. One day I did 139 miles with a dbl reef, and a 135 headsail. That was sweet! I was later thrown across the salon, and had my head split open. When I pulled in to Turtle Bay several peoples eyes went wide seeing the scab on my head.

Once again farther south I was thrown off the boat, and drug back up onto the boat before I hit the water by my harness. This left me stuck in one position for nearly a day. My back really hurt. All of this due to my autopilot.