Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2013, 00:21   #16
Registered User
 
BigJohn's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 134
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

do you think it may be the peculiar location of the transducer?
__________________

__________________
BigJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 00:48   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Washington State
Boat: Pearson Ariel 26' (SOLD)
Posts: 23
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJohn View Post
do you think it may be the peculiar location of the transducer?
The transducer is located about 1' before the keel, and at the lowest part of the hull.
__________________

__________________
A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.
-Mahatma Gandhi
trooper dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 02:06   #18
Registered User
 
BigJohn's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 134
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper dan View Post
The transducer is located about 1' before the keel, and at the lowest part of the hull.
then perhaps you need to contact the manufacturer as suggested by others here ... an error of over 6' is downright dangerous ...
__________________
BigJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 02:17   #19
cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay area
Boat: Hunter 31'
Posts: 5,731
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper dan View Post
So I have a uniden depth sounder that is relatively new but purchased with the boat. I have run aground three times already and every single time the depth sounder lies about how much water I have under me. Today I ran aground and while I was stuck the sounder read 6'2" and my boat draws 3'8" so I should be ok right? Each time some kind power boaters towed me off. I am here on the Magothy river Chesapeake and on the northern end. There are very shallow water in the creeks and rivers here.

I have new charts and gps, and follow them closely. So anyways I used a lead line a little bit ago here at my slip and supposedly my boat is in 5'1" of water and clearly not aground. Indeed the lead line indicated 5' of water, So why would my sounder read 6'2" when firmly aground? It stayed at 6'2" the entire time i was aground until I got towed off. I cannot adjust this model of sounder to account for say "0" to be the bottom of my keel or I would. So even in these skinny waters here, what can I do?

I fell really silly getting grounded all of the time, what gives?

TD

Check the transducer compartment to make sure the fluid it's supposed to float in is still there.

If that isn't the problem, check the website for the manufacturer. You might need a software update. Easy to do, unless you have a Macintosh, in which case you may need a friend with a PC to download the software update to a thumb drive.
__________________
Rakuflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 02:18   #20
cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay area
Boat: Hunter 31'
Posts: 5,731
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper dan View Post
Oh yeah the thing is I never ask for help. I would be just as comfortable waiting for the tide to come back in. People are really nice and helpful around here! People just motor over and ask how I am doing... A catamaran looks really sweet right now! What surprised me the most was how firmly I was aground at such a slow speed. This guy today with a 125 HP outboard had a difficult time getting me un-stuck. Thanks goodness for the kindness of others.

I call some of the bottom here, a black muck, "God's superglue!"
__________________
Rakuflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 02:21   #21
cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tampa Bay area
Boat: Hunter 31'
Posts: 5,731
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Elliott View Post
How do you do that, given the huge difference in sound propagation speed of air vs water? Is there some technique? I suppose you could calibrate using a 0.231 scale factor...

Make a depth line. I weighted mine down with a round zinc.

I used 1/4" line and put one knot in it for every foot, with two knots every 3 feet. Then you hang it over the said where your transducer is, and compare the reading on the depth sounder to what the line says.
__________________
Rakuflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 02:43   #22
Registered User
 
Celestialsailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In Mexico, working on the boat
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35. and 14ft.Whitehall pulling skiff.
Posts: 8,013
Images: 5
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Two things which come to mind is 1) If the bottom is silty muck it may not give a proper bounce. Also, 2) there is a keel offset that you may not have set right.
__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"

http://wwwjolielle.blogspot.com/
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 06:22   #23
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by trooper dan View Post
I was not under sail at the time, nor under heel. My depth sounder is malfunctioning, I think.
Under power in shallow water with a soft bottom this is a normal behavior for low powered sounders. The transducer is not powerful enough nor sensitive enough to combat all of the noise (engine, etc) and diminished return from a soft bottom.
Unfortunately if you want an accurate depth in these conditions you'll need something other than the inexpensive uniden depth gauge
__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 06:50   #24
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,775
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

i use 2 sounders--one forward, set inside boat, is a grmin, with a liquid so it can read thru the hull. is correct.
i also have an apelco which has begun to malfunction-- i will be replacing both as soon as i can find a garmin with a good lens--mine went black. functioning well, screen blac, so i am getting a replacement
my apelco has begun to misread--when garmin says 9 ft, the apelco says 69 ft...lol...i will be replacing my apelco with, i hope, a comp[atible apelco that actually works. is good to have spares. i dont have em yet, but they are necessary. stuff happens.

also, make sure depth is under keel not water line, and not from transducer to bottom.. makes a difference.
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2013, 07:04   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,949
Re: My depth sounder LIES!

Get a small fishfinder--I have found them to be much more accurate and powerful than sailboat depth sounders, and they are cheaper. The bottom contour image is very useful too.
__________________

__________________
Kettlewell Cruising
Kettlewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.