Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-08-2014, 15:48   #31

Boat: gulfstar ketch 41 Surya
Re: Marinas Think We Are Chickens For Plucking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celestialsailor View Post
I agree BB it should have been in writing but $100 for 20 minutes (if in fact it was 20 minutes) is not low.
I took a video with my phone of the old coming out and new one coming through companion way and the video(s) are time stamped about 10 minutes apart.
And yeah, I could have got it all in writing but for such a small amount, I don't know. I was an electrical and general contractor back in California and am well aware of what can go wrong. But even if it was in writing he did try to bill me for a haul he never did. This incident is the icing on the cake.
S/V_Surya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2014, 17:18   #32
Hull Diver

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by BandB View Post
Honestly, we don't know exactly what was said by anyone. What we do know is that both the marina and the boat owner made a mistake by not putting it in writing. 50/50. Both at fault. While $340 might have been high, I think most would realize $100 was too low.
Correct. We are only getting one side of the story. But that doesn't stop the masses from bashing the entire boatyard industry.
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2014, 17:57   #33
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(

Jeez - Nothing happens for $100, anywhere in the west.

20 minutes? I call BS - Nothing happens in 20 minutes.