Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2012, 01:27   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
March N Atlantic Hurricane ?

Hurricane force winds for NA TWICE in about two weeks. Seems like there is some pretty extreme weather out there.

I was poking around on the NOAA site. I'm looking to go North in a few weeks, early May, and am trying to get a handle on the weather. I was looking at the NA surface analysis, took a peek at the 14 day loop. I'm a newbie to that site, it looks like a history, not a prediction.

Ocean Prediction Center - Atlantic

Gale force winds have been fairly constant, some storm force, and even a couple of hurricane force events.

I know the NA is rough and with a bad reputation, but this strikes me as pretty abnormal.

Any thoughts?

Quote:

NOAA>NWS>NCEP>OPC> N Atlantic High Seas Forecast

[ Printable version]
944 FZNT01 KWBC 240356 HSFAT1 HIGH SEAS FORECAST FOR METAREA IV NWS

OCEAN PREDICTION CENTER WASHINGTON DC 0430 UTC SAT MAR 24 2012

CCODE/1:31:04:01:00/AOW/NWS/CCODE SUPERSEDED BY NEXT ISSUANCE IN 6 HOURS

SEAS GIVEN AS SIGNIFICANT WAVE HEIGHT...WHICH IS THE AVERAGE HEIGHT OF THE HIGHEST 1/3 OF THE WAVES. INDIVIDUAL WAVES MAY BE MORE THAN TWICE THE SIGNIFICANT WAVE HEIGHT

SECURITE

NORTH ATLANTIC NORTH OF 31N TO 67N AND WEST OF 35W SYNOPSIS VALID 0000 UTC MAR 24. 24 HOUR FORECAST VALID 0000 UTC MAR 25. 48 HOUR FORECAST VALID 0000 UTC MAR 26.

.WARNINGS. ...STORM WARNING...