Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2008, 15:36   #1

Boat: Coronado 30 - Lady Eliza
Jackson Long has started sailing...

Woot!

The boat was finally ready to leave the slip again as of Friday and I spent Saturday and Sunday sailing!

Now for those of you not following along too closely- this is my first time sailing without the benefit of somebody who knows what they are doing.

I had a guy with me who had never been on a boat before (but wants to do the Ha Ha with me if the sailing doesn't kill him) but otherwise no help. I'd been sailing on my boat with the previous owner twice- maybe a total of 4 hours and then sailing as crew once with a guy for about 2 hours. But pretty much all I had done was steer and pull lines. I had no exposure to knowing when to tack or how to manage it, no exposure to raising or lowering sails, or setting up the sheets...

Anyway, I hanked on the jib (which I think is like a 150% or something- it is huge), attached the halyard, ran the sheets back (over the life lines, through a pulley, and under the lifelines to a winch), uncovered the main, untied the straps on the main, and attached the (is it also a halyard?) thing to the main that would let me raise it all before we motored out of the slip.

As we motored out of the channel there is an area where it widens out and there were a lot of boats messing around there. My plan had been to go all the way out out of the channel into the bay so we would have plenty of room. But seeing all these boats made me think this was a good area to learn. I think I was right I think!