Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2019, 06:30   #1

Hull repair

Hello*

Ive just bought a 25ft contest sailing boat, it needs a fair amount of work doing and as I'm new to the sailing communitt id be really grateful for some advice*

On inspection of the hull she has peeled several layers of paint, in some areas showing the fibreglass. My plan is to sand right back to the fibreglass on the entire bottom side, lots of work I know.

My main question is around re-sealing the hull once ive done this. I've read up about gel coat, but I dont think thats suitable in this case. Would I be right in thinking that a few coats of epoxy resin on the entire hull as well as some paint would do the job sufficiently?*

Another potential problem I've spotted is that joint between the keel and the hull is visible. It doesnt look a major issue, almost looks like it should be that way, but once sanded back would it be safer to fill with some epoxy putty before the resin and paint?*

Any help would be hugely appreciated!*

Kind regards,
Ed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190809-134615_Video Player.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	303.3 KB
ID:	197528   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190809-134552_Gallery.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	272.9 KB
ID:	197529  

Name:	Screenshot_20190809-134548_Gallery.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	197530  
Edbond07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 06:40   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Hull repair