Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2007, 12:25   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
How much boat is too much?

My wife and I plan on retiring in a few years and plan to spend the rest of our (healthy) lives cruising...probably for ten years at the least since I plan on departing for prettier venues than the suburbs, in my early 50's. I have been looking around at catamarans mostly on YachtWorld.com. My affordability range is from a Lagoon 67 on down...anything larger seems like it would definitely need a full time crew. I have been a licensed merchant marine officer for over 20 years...so I am up on my technical skills yet I have absolutely no catamaran experience other than racing a Hobie 18 for a couple years about 25 years ago. I taught sailing for a local sailing school while at Cal Maritime Academy. So basically I am not a newbie to boats or ships or sailing...but I am a newbie to cruising catamarans and extended cruising just for fun.

So how big a boat is too much for a couple to cruise? I understand it's not just length but how the vessel is rigged. Cost is a concern in that I do not want to spend exorbitant sums of money to maintain and upgrade a boat. My wife and I both want the creature comforts and the speed/waterline a larger cat has to offer. I was originally thinking a boat in the upper thirties to lower forties LOA range. We went and looked at a couple in that size range and decided we wanted larger and more comfortable.