Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-01-2011, 09:41   #1

Boat: FPD 1760 LCD 17"screen
How Loco Is this? Newbie Getting into Sailing . . .

As there is already a thread how crazy is this I opted for the loco question.

Well,you might have read that the dream of sharing a life and or boat with "love of my life" has capsized . What I am left with is a strange interest in boats due to the involvement with him.

But as I was saving my boat virginity for him to be the one to take me out on a boat I have no experience of sailboats .
I have been out on powerboats 50 miles off the coast of Belize ,loved it and am no scaredy cat when teh waters get rough . Did not like the powerboat noise .For now that is all I know plus am fascinated theroretically with the idea of sailboats and reading /learning as much as I can in theory.

I am reasonably handy if shown where things are and what they do.Example I am the only woman that I know who drove with hammer on her passenger seat,because she could not afford to replace the sticking solenoid on her alternator so I had to start it with a good bash to the alternator .

So here's the question

Budget : 35k Sea of Cortez on the doorstep , house selling within the next two- three months, no employment apart from some freelance work hopefully and will have to leave Mexico (visa etc) probably. Might get extension.
The idea: a bluewater boat for 20-25 K and 10 k to restore as a live aboard and later sail away .

I have been keeping a running total of boats that are blue water and there are two that caught my eye as an example