Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2017, 05:04   #1

Hong Kong Harbour

I have a thousand questions to ask about keeping a boat in Hong Kong waters. I’m new to cruising, and looking to get a small sloop to cruise around South East Asia.
My initial search for information just raises more questions.

What’s the availability of moorings like?
Would I have to join a yacht club?
If yacht club membership is exclusive, how does a transferable mooring work?
Where do visiting cruisers keep their yachts and what limitations do they face?

I’d love to hear from anyone here in Hong Kong that would be willing to share their knowledge of Hong Kong boat ownership or their tales from the high seas?
nogills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 05:13   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Hong Kong Harbour

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, nogills.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 06:07   #3

Hi, I'm not based in Hong Kong but have spent a lot of time sailing there (mainly China sea races -yearly occurrence), from a visitors point of view i have found that Many of the marina's/clubs cater to permanent member ships, that said they all welcome visitors but normally have limited berths and time constraints on the periods of stay increasing financially as time goes by, many also have moorings owned and maintained by the club and if available are open to hire for length as required but again time constraints rear up before you need to be a member,

In recent years new marina's have been springing up but quite far from the hub of Hong Kong and I'm not sure of there policies/charges,

Some one from Hong Kong will elaborate I'm sure

Cheers Steve (Philippines)
Captsteve53 is offline   Reply With Quote