Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2017, 15:00   #1

Help..Am I being foolish? Hawaii to Florida

I have been offered to crew on a 36' Hunter from Hawaii to Florida via Panama canal over Christmas, etc. The capt. seems experienced and is doing it to ferry the boat for the owner. I do not know him well but he sent me his sailing resume. IT will be only him and me. I have some sailing experience in smaller 32' boats in coastal waters only. I really want to go to gain experience but don't want to die. Am I taking a big chance with this boat, route and time of year? Thanks
widmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 15:16   #2

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Re: Help..Am I being foolish? Hawaii to Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by widmn View Post
I have been offered to crew on a 36' Hunter from Hawaii to Florida via Panama canal over Christmas, etc. The capt. seems experienced and is doing it to ferry the boat for the owner. I do not know him well but he sent me his sailing resume. IT will be only him and me. I have some sailing experience in smaller 32' boats in coastal waters only. I really want to go to gain experience but don't want to die. Am I taking a big chance with this boat, route and time of year? Thanks
Over Christmas? Might want to add in New Years and Easter to that time frame! It is a long trip, even without possible delays due to equipment failures and delays at the canal.