Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-06-2019, 18:21   #1

Great Lakes Advice (risky venture for newbie?)

Hello All,

I am considering the purchase of a 25' Cape Dory and sailing it from Milwaukee to one of my local marinas in lake Saint Clair. I am new to cruising and this would be my first attempt. I have little experience, although I grew up on the lakes and have done some sailing on various day sailers. I know it's different but I am a licensed airplane pilot and get the gist of navigation and radio communication. But I am uncertain about taking on the trip with such limited experience.

Does this sound like a risky proposition? Are there any particular pitfalls such as strong currents or other concerns I should be aware of. How long could I expect the trip to take? I was thinking of crossing lake Michigan directly east from Milwaukee then following the cost of Michigan until I reach a yet to be secured marina on the north west side of lake Saint Clair.

Any advice is greatly appreciated

Dave W
david63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2019, 18:39   #2

Boat: 2001 Catalina 36
Re: Great Lakes Advice (risky venture for newbie?)

The secret to making it a safe trip is unlimited time. You could probably have the boat trucked for a reasonable cost or hire a delivery crew. That said I would take the boat north along the western lake shore to about Sturgeon Bay. Cross the lake to Leland. Then Charlevoix to Mackinaw City. Then Alpena then Harbor Beach then home. For Leland and Charlenvoix you will need reservations at the marina.
dangerfield55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2019, 18:44   #3