Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2013, 17:45   #1

First Sailboat. Help!

Hey everybody. I'm new to the forums here. I was doing some research and ended up here a few times. Anyways...I was looking at the Catalina 22 for my first sailboat. I have plenty of boating experience. Pontoon, bass, cabin cruisers, and I love my kayak. I want to give sailing a try but where I live there isn't a place to take lessons or anything like that. So I figured if start kind of small and see what happens. I figure the worst that happens is I get all messed up and have to run back to the marina using the motor. I'll be on a lake and its never extremely windy. Every once in a while a storm will come through and there will be some whitecaps. I also want something that I can take out for a few nights and camp out so to speak. That's what drew me to the Catalina 22. The price isn't bad either. I don't know anybody that sails so I figured I'd post up on here and see what you think. Any advice will be appreciated.

Also...I'm 6'4". Is the 22's cabin big enough for a tall drink of water like myself?
Justinp123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2013, 18:33   #2

Re: First Sailboat. Help!

to answer your question, ah, no. But don't let that deter you. You could probably sleep out in the cockpit or put the cushions on the cabin sole amd stretch out that way. A cat 22 is a good starter boat and is pretty forgiving. It will allow you to grow in your knowledge of sailing while having fun, from there you will generally go to a larger boat. I doubt if any boats below 30 feet would have a berth long enough for you, but start doing some research and see what's ouy there. Good luck and fair winds.
wizard1_us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2013, 18:35   #3