Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 14-08-2011, 19:54   #1

Boat: Whitby,Evans 16 ft
Finally Bought a Sailboat

Yaay, ive been researching sailing for a good 4 years now. I dont feel im much further ahead knowledge wise, i decided to spend some money and get a boat. While trying to decide between a 21 foot and a 16foot evans. I ended up buying the evans 16, small open cabin great for learning i hope.
Most people told be to take sailing lessons, unfortunately i am pretty sure i cant afford it. So i did learn how to rig up my boat, asked owner and he was pretty good at explaining some things.
I was all excited about it now i am kind of getting scared since i was reading that being a meteorologist is a pre-requisite of sailing ( a bit of an exageration). Basically all i know is to look on the weather channel and see the wind speed and direction it blows from.

Any advice on picking weather would be appreciated.

Andrei

Old 14-08-2011, 20:10   #2

Boat: Tartan 30
Congrats on the boat! I'm sure it'll prove to be the best choice..

When I sailed my 14 foot boardboat around the lakes in Ohio, I relied entirly on the current days forecast. It wasn't always right (of course) but it wa usually close enough. Rain is no big deal, especially in the summer, but lightning is a no-no. Weather happens pretty slowly, if you see lightning coming, just head in...

Wind is dependant on the boat. Can you reef the sails? My little boat was a lateen rig and could not be reefed, so if the wind grew strong, I had no option but to sail FAST it turned out to be a lot of fun the few times I was worried about it. I had my boat out in winds over 15kts on more than one occasion. It did become tough to handle at timed, especially getting the sail up and down, but I muttled through it and never had any problems.