Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2015, 11:53   #31
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Snowpetrel, the switch wiring for your windlass motor goes to a relay to make the motor go one way or the other. By simply making any number of additional switches connected IN PARALLEL you can place a simple double-throw on-off-on momentary rocker switch anywhere you want. In addition to the switch, I include a large red LED next to it to notify me that the windlass circuit is energized, and it provides some light for me to work by if it's dark.
__________________

__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 12:33   #32
Registered User
 
Gerrycooper56's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Tayana 52
Posts: 232
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
Snowpetrel, the switch wiring for your windlass motor goes to a relay to make the motor go one way or the other. By simply making any number of additional switches connected IN PARALLEL you can place a simple double-throw on-off-on momentary rocker switch anywhere you want. In addition to the switch, I include a large red LED next to it to notify me that the windlass circuit is energized, and it provides some light for me to work by if it's dark.

Harbor Freight sell a remote control for a truck winch, cost around $35. Simple installation on the windlass solenoid control box and the remote has a ring for a lanyard. Not only is it handy for leaning over the bow and paying out chain for the bridle but when inside the anchor locker you can haul in or out.



Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Gerrycooper56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 14:30   #33
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Orleans
Boat: We have a problem... A serious addiction issue.
Posts: 3,940
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

The only boats I have removed the anchor on were serious race boats. But don't think to emulate them, we had containers show up at the end of the race with the anchor, and a tender to deploy it. The boat did carry a small (minimum allowed) anchor below, but no one in their right mind would rely on it.

Frankly any gain in performance to me would be offset by the now massive amount of anchor chain you will have to live around for days or weeks on end. The trade off just isn't worth it.
__________________
Greg

- If animals weren't meant to be eaten then they wouldn't be made of food.
Stumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 14:35   #34
Registered User
 
Snowpetrel's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hobart
Boat: Alloy Peterson 40
Posts: 3,071
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

^ thanks. Both solutions are great ideas for making it easier to restow the chain aft. I'm just setting up snowpetrel2's anchoring system/chain lockers . So I will look into something like this. Cheers

Sent from my HTC_0PCV2 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
My Ramblings
Snowpetrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 14:48   #35
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,058
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Just wondering? How did it get from should I restow my anchor to remote windless switches?
__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 14:59   #36
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CruisingKitty View Post
One thing to note, if you do leave your anchor on the bow, always secure your anchor with a rope to a cleat or some other secure point and leave the chain a bit loose. That takes the strain off the windlass and shackle. Friends lost an anchor overboard when their swivel sheared. They had always made their chain bar taut to keep the anchor from rattling. Bye bye shiny SS anchor!
Doesn't everyone have a chain stop that can be used for this purpose? The windlass shouldn't be used to take the full force of anchoring.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 15:04   #37
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerrycooper56 View Post
Harbor Freight sell a remote control for a truck winch, cost around $35. Simple installation on the windlass solenoid control box and the remote has a ring for a lanyard. Not only is it handy for leaning over the bow and paying out chain for the bridle but when inside the anchor locker you can haul in or out.
Check on Amazon and eBay stores - you can get these for ~$12. I got one on Amazon with no expectation that it would work. Imagine my surprise. Even if the ruggedness is not up to snuff, you can buy 10 of them for what Lewmar sells theirs for.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 16:07   #38
cruiser

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,669
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve77 View Post
.............. what are the risks involved with a large anchor on the bow roller when on a long passage? Burying the bow in a wave will have the real possibility of damage if the anchor came adrift.
There are several ways of securing the anchor so this can't happen. Some you buy, some you make. Your anchor should be secured regardless of where you travel.
__________________
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 16:17   #39
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
Doesn't everyone have a chain stop that can be used for this purpose? The windlass shouldn't be used to take the full force of anchoring.

Mark
Nope to first question and yep to second .

I don't use a chain stop but I do secure the chain to the Samson post rather that the windlass when anchored, usually by way of a snubber.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
There are several ways of securing the anchor so this can't happen. Some you buy, some you make. Your anchor should be secured regardless of where you travel.
Exactly and let me add, the method of securing should be both secure and easy to release. This is not always self-evident to some
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 16:45   #40
Moderator
 
Don C L's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Posts: 4,382
Images: 34
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

I have a medium displacment boat and I don't move the chain BUT where I am cruising I am not going very far at a stretch. If I were out longer I probably would move the chain, not anchors. BUT I have a fairly small boat and I don't have a LOT of chain to move too. Maybe another reason not to buy a really big boat...
__________________
DL
Pythagoras
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 16:46   #41
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Cadence, I believe the OP was referring to the effect of the weight and rode on performance. Once that had been established, others chimed in on options to leaving the mass of anchor and chain up in the tippytop of the hull's pointy end. Not necessarily thread drift. Here's an excerpt of his first post:"do you leave your anchor and chain in the chain locker or do you move ir aft to get the weight out of the end of the boat and cut down on hobby horsing?".
__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 16:53   #42
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Couldn't imagine moving 200 feet of 3/8-inch chain and related anchor around the boat. Besides, my boat is a bit stern-heavy with full tankage. If anything, I'd add another 100 feet of chain in the bow.
__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2015, 09:15   #43
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,058
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
Cadence, I believe the OP was referring to the effect of the weight and rode on performance. Once that had been established, others chimed in on options to leaving the mass of anchor and chain up in the tippytop of the hull's pointy end. Not necessarily thread drift. Here's an excerpt of his first post:"do you leave your anchor and chain in the chain locker or do you move ir aft to get the weight out of the end of the boat and cut down on hobby horsing?".
I was referring to the remote windless switches, I could not make the connection to the original question. It might be just me?
__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2015, 15:48   #44
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,448
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
I was referring to the remote windless switches, I could not make the connection to the original question. It might be just me?
If this is a serious question, the subject came up in reference to the act of moving chain from the forward chain locker to some other place on board. Being able to use the windlass remotely to hoist chain from the locker on to the deck will allow one person to then drag it into some storage place further aft without constant running back and forth.

If you were only trying to stir things up, well, carry on...

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2015, 16:04   #45
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,058
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post
If this is a serious question, the subject came up in reference to the act of moving chain from the forward chain locker to some other place on board. Being able to use the windlass remotely to hoist chain from the locker on to the deck will allow one person to then drag it into some storage place further aft without constant running back and forth.

If you were only trying to stir things up, well, carry on...

Jim
Not at all trying to stir things up. I just didn't see the point of connecting the two. Now I can see it but see it as not practical nor a good idea.
That is just me.
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chain stopper for anchor chain sbrin Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 19-07-2014 03:26
Location of line isolator - to move or not to move gchabs Marine Electronics 2 01-08-2012 10:27
Do You Dry Food While Underway? Mike OReilly Provisioning: Food & Drink 21 16-03-2012 09:45
Passenger Drops Cruise Ship Anchor Underway St. Elsewhere Seamanship & Boat Handling 21 09-03-2012 11:35
How do you attach your anchor to HT chain ? BambooSailor Anchoring & Mooring 9 03-02-2012 23:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.