Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-01-2015, 13:41   #16
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Punta Arenas ahorra
Boat: 39' Westerly Sealord
Posts: 3,960
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Erling Tambs stowed the anchor below on Teddy... cost him his boat... he never did get to Chile....
__________________

El Pinguino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 13:45   #17
Don't ask if you can't handle it
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 12,326
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Why would I move the anchor and chain? It's already in its' best storage space.
__________________

__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 18:55   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 704
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Thanks for all the input guys. Reason I asked is I've heard of people doing this to keep tge weight out of the ends. Primarily racers. I certainly have no plans to do so, but was curious if others did.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Kevin84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 20:17   #19
Registered User
 
svmariane's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Currently in South Pacific. Home Port: Vienna, Austria
Boat: Celestial, Stay'sl-Rigged Sloop, 48 ft
Posts: 1,164
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

For us, anchor and chain stay forward where they are best suited for use.

Any ocean, anytime, anywhere.

To balance the weight we stock beer, rum, and wine in the aft cabin.

When the vessel begins showing signs of tipping forwards, we pull into port, drop anchor (which re-levels the boat) and resupply provisions.

Simple, no?
__________________
"Being offended is not the same thing as being right." Dave Barry.
Note: Offense is always taken, never given.
When life hands you lemons..... add gin & tonic!
svmariane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 22:47   #20
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,335
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randyonr3 View Post
We carry 300 feet and 3 different anchors in our forward locker.. thats their home while cruising..
Have thought about moving the anchor off the bow while traveling but never done it..
we dont have any "hobby-horsing".. I think it more to the individual boat and owner of how they pack a boat.........

Randy, you ought to try sailing to weather without the chain and anchors some time. We did take the anchors and chain out for regattas like the King's Cup and the Langkawi regatta and the improvement going into a chop was HUGE on our First 456, which is a pretty similar boat to yours. However, the anchors, chain, and rode sat on or under the dock at the marina, and that isn't possible on a passage. The only thing I did for passages was to lash the anchor down tight so it wouldn't come loose and beat up the front of the boat (again).
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 23:57   #21
Registered User
 
Snowpetrel's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hobart
Boat: Alloy Peterson 40
Posts: 3,071
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

I prefer to leave it forward for shorter passages , say 1000 miles or so, but it depends on the boat, the landfall, and the crew.

Snowpetrel 1 had a second chain locker well aft from the bow. This normally held 30 meters with 40 meters left in the fwd locker where it self stowed. On long passages I could leave the anchor on the roller but drag most of the chain to the aft locker to reduce pitching. I still had the anchor instantly available to drop. Very nice when single handed!

Nothing worse than a stormy landfall on a nasty coast with your anchor buried below someplace!

A good reason to stow the anchor below can be water comming in through the spurling pipe. Without the chain it's easy to seal it up with a bung and tape. One yacht I delivered had a neat split bung that fitted around the chain and sealed the pipe. But I've resorted to tape and rags and expanding foam or concrete (on ships) to stop leaks. I guess most modern yachts have a self draining locker so this is less of an issue.

Sent from my HTC_0PCV2 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
My Ramblings
Snowpetrel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 00:21   #22
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

My Rocna 15 stays on the bow roller. For short hops between islands or anchorages in shallow water, enough chain is in the bow locker. When readying for a passage I pull the chain aft from its temporary home in the bow to a bilge locker just forward of midships. This is mad easier with having up/down windlass control rocker switches in both locations, as well as at the bow and in the cockpit. With a helper washing the chain at the roller, the chain comes aboard clean, and perfectly flaked down below or aft in the deeper bilge:

My primary anchor is 240 feet of 1/4 inch Hi-Test, with 100' of 1/2" yellow polypropylene attached to it, and finally, some 1/4 inch poly to cut with a knife if I have to cut and run. I also have two other rodes in wet lockers on deck, with anchors always attached, and floating tails if needed. Works well on a multihull.
__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 03:35   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clew Bay, Ireland
Boat: Bowman 57 -- Aleria
Posts: 74
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Eisberg View Post
Wow... Well, I certainly hope the anchor took that piece of crap with it :-)

They should consider themselves lucky, better to have a failure of a swivel result in the loss of an anchor, rather than the boat...

Hopefully, they've been cured of using a swivel?

:-))
Yes, they've been cured of swivels and stainless steel. They now have nice galvanized gear.
__________________
CruisingKitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 03:37   #24
Registered User
 
Snowpetrel's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hobart
Boat: Alloy Peterson 40
Posts: 3,071
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

^^^Good idea having a windlass switch inside, near the chain locker so you can flake it aft without having to keep running on deck to pull in another few meters. If I've read your system right?

Sent from my HTC_0PCV2 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
My Ramblings
Snowpetrel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 04:46   #25
Registered User
 
SimonV's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 1,316
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

I did put the anchor below deck once on a long ocean passage, but the difficulty putting it back when nearing my destination has put me off doing it ever again. The anchor belongs at the bow, and at the bow it shall stay.

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Simon

https://svgoodonya.blogspot.com.au/
SimonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 05:37   #26
Don't ask if you can't handle it
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 12,326
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

I bet a factor on taking an anchor off the bow is the size. For me to remove that 60lb piece of pointed metal off the bow when the boat is in the water is a big dangerous risk to the boat and my body.
__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 05:46   #27
Registered User
 
SimonV's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 1,316
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Removing the anchor in a marina berth, smart. Putting it back after 23 days at sea and in unfavorable conditions, not so.

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Simon

https://svgoodonya.blogspot.com.au/
SimonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 08:00   #28
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,777
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

i keep primary anchor and chain ready to deploy. it is secured to boat while sailing.
i keep secondary set aft and stowed while underway.
on anchor, i keep secondary ready to deploy in case of need, especially in anchorages with bad holding, like barra de navidad....
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 08:12   #29
Registered User
 
wingless's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Boat: 2000 Searay 380 Sundancer
Posts: 487
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

The only time I move my anchor and 200' of all-chain rode when underway is when I want / need to do this high-speed turn.

__________________
2000 SeaRay 380 Sundancer Mercruiser
454 MAG MPI Horizon 380hp / Westerbeke 7.0KW BCGB
many cool mods
wingless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2015, 09:50   #30
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,066
Re: Do you move your anchor and chain underway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by svmariane View Post
For us, anchor and chain stay forward where they are best suited for use.

Any ocean, anytime, anywhere.

To balance the weight we stock beer, rum, and wine in the aft cabin.

When the vessel begins showing signs of tipping forwards, we pull into port, drop anchor (which re-levels the boat) and resupply provisions.

Simple, no?
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chain stopper for anchor chain sbrin Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 19-07-2014 03:26
Location of line isolator - to move or not to move gchabs Marine Electronics 2 01-08-2012 10:27
Do You Dry Food While Underway? Mike OReilly Provisioning: Food & Drink 21 16-03-2012 09:45
Passenger Drops Cruise Ship Anchor Underway St. Elsewhere Seamanship & Boat Handling 21 09-03-2012 11:35
How do you attach your anchor to HT chain ? BambooSailor Anchoring & Mooring 9 03-02-2012 23:43



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:25.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.