Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2014, 07:18   #661

Boat: Seawind 1000xl
Re: Do multihullers ever go back?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weavis View Post
Hi Tom
If a Catamaran were not avaialble to you in your cruising area:
  • Would you give up sailing?
  • Would you select a Monohull?
  • assuming yes: what type and size of Monohull?

The first thing I would do is use a dictionary to find out how available.

I sailed on my Dad's H28, his Abaco schooner, and his Privateer. Of those three I probably would get something like the Privateer. After I got my law degree my Dad let me take the boat from Marathon to the Dry Tortugas to Cay Sal, and back to Marathon.

The thing is before I got the Seawind I had been looking at Fboats and came very close to getting a C31. Knowing what I know now (after meeting a guy with an F39 and being on that boat) I would probably look for some type of Fboat or a Chris White trimaran in the 40-45 foot length.

The thing is the Seawind is very easy to single hand. The twin screws make things like docking and picking up a ball vary easy, much easier than a monohull with a single screw. It is also much more comfortable at anchor than any other boat I have been on, cats excepted.
tomfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2014, 07:39   #662
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Send a message via Skype™ to weavis

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfl View Post
The first thing I would do is use a dictionary to find out how available.